School Bus Information for Motorists
STOP ARM CAMERASOur buses are complete with exterior cameras that are used to capture video of any vehicle who does not stop for the red/yellow 8 way lights of a bus. If a vehicle does not stop while the red lights are activated, and the stop sign is out; a picture of the license plate is sent to the local police department for processing. Under the Pennsylvania crimes code.
PENNSYLVANIA PENALTIES FOR MEETING OR OVERTAKING A SCHOOL BUS
A motorist who is convicted of violating Pennsylvania’s School Bus Stopping Law faces a number of punishments that can have immediate and possibly long-term impact. The consequences include:
- 60-day suspension of driver’s license
- Five points added to alleged offender’s PennDOT driving record
- $250 fine
It is important to remember that any driver who accumulates six points on his or her record for the first time is required by PennDOT to take a special written point examination. Failure to pass the exam within 30 days will result in a driver’s license being suspended until the exam is passed.
If it is the second time a driver has accumulated six points, he or she will have to attend a Departmental Hearing at which PennDOT may order a 15 day license suspension, order a special on-road driver’s examination, or take no action. If a motorist fails to attend the hearing, his or her license will be suspended for 60 days.
If it is the third time or more that a driver has accumulated six points, he or she will also have to attend a Departmental hearing at which PennDOT will then determine if a 30-day license suspension will be initiated. If a motorist fails to attend the hearing, his or her license will be suspended until he or she attends the hearing.